Welcome to AmericanVETnews, a companion blog to the AmericanVETradio internet station. The upfront disclaimer is that I started this blog as part of my graduate coursework. You can find out more about that in the About link.

In 2007, when I became a Veteran, I realized how challenging it could be to try to understand and partake of the benefits I was entitled to. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has more challenges than I want to get into here in this blog post. Suffice it to say that it can be incredibly difficult to navigate the VA system at times, even if it’s just information that you seek. If you have ever wandered around the VA website, you probably understand.

Clark Taylor also understands the information challenges Veterans have because he’s a Vietnam War Veteran and retired federal government employee. He started Soldiers Radio and Television (SRTV) in the early 1980s as a broadcast dissemination tool for the Army. This year, Clark is focusing his expertise on building an internet radio station just for Veterans, AmericanVETradio. At this writing, the station is in its infancy. I would love to help Clark make it as successful as SRTV.

Another disclaimer–I am one of Clark’s former SRTV Soldiers and success stories. I hope this blog helps me show him how much I appreciate his dedication to me when I was a young Soldier and allows me to help my fellow Veterans get the information they need.

